August 2, 2019

This Friday we went to a local favorite, Al’s Luncheonette in Manalapan. It’s a friendly restaurant with excellent service and good food. I always enjoy going to luncheonettes, they have that homey feel.

Chicken Fajita Omelet
Colleen had the chicken fajita omelet with a side of hash browns. She enjoyed it very much and ate it all up!
Manalapan Skillet
I had the Manalapan skillet. It comes with scrambled eggs but I ordered over easy eggs instead. It is a combination of corned beef, potatoes, onions and green peppers with a touch of cheese. It is very good.
Glenmont
This Friday we went to Edison’s home Glenmont. He bought the house for his second wife, as a wedding present. His first wife had died.
We took a tour of the house. You have to go to the labs first to get the pass for the tour. You are not allowed to take pictures inside the house.
The inside is very beautiful with many rich details. There is a grand staircase as you enter with beautifully carved wood accents.
You park by the greenhouse, which we looked at first.
There were some plants for sale, not these, but Colleen and I both bought some. Let’s see who’s last the longest 🙂 (NO FAIR! Colleen now has her mom taking care of the plant. Her mom gets rid of plants because she gets tired of them. Cheater Cheater)
Mina Edison enjoyed bird watching and horticulture
On the side of the house is a conservatory, which Mina enjoyed watching birds. There was even a bird bath which was heated during the winter.
Edison’s garage
Thomas Edison didn’t like to drive. His son once got him to drive and he ended up in the ditch.
Thomas and Mina Edison
Both of their graves are on the property of Glenmont
Glenmont is in the development of Llewellyn Park
There are people who live in this beautiful place. Many trees, sloping hills, deer everywhere with little parks like these, it’s hard to believe that it is 12 miles from New York City.
After we went to Zinburger in Manalapan
Sweet Potato Fries with dipping sauces
These were yummy! One sauce has a bit of tang, the yogurt with herbs and the other was sweet, the maple. Colleen liked the yogurt one better. I liked both.
Zucchini Fries
There were yummy too! They are served with ranch dressing and lots of Parmesan cheese.
The Plain and Simple Burger
We both had this burger, only I had fried onions and cheese added and Colleen had cheese added to hers.
I’m not crazy about my burger, I guess I expected more. It was a bit greasy and it didn’t have that char that I like on my burgers.

Having visited both Edison’s lab and home, I got curious to learn more about the man. I know at one time he had a rivalry with Tesla. Edison wanted to use DC to power homes and Tesla wanted to use AC. So to prove that AC was dangerous Edison electrocuted an elephant. I couldn’t imagine someone doing that today. Did he think he was serving the greater good? Going to Edison’s house, a woman who went on the tour before us was very upset about the animal skins in the home, there was a bear, tiger, leopard and an owl that I saw. Our tour guide told us this is because they wanted to bring nature into the house, but I think Edison was not an animal lover. Does this make him a lesser of a person to be admired? I think not, but it makes him human, which we all are. It’s funny how history repaints us.

Leave a comment